A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

IPL-2024: Chennai Super Kings Defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad By 78 Runs In Chennai

0 99

In IPL Cricket, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 78 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai last night. For Chennai, Tushar Deshpande’s four wicket haul coupled with Matheesha Pathirana’s crucial two wickets restricted SRH for 134 in 18.5 overs.

Earlier, Put in to bat first, CSK scored 212 for three in 20 overs. Skipper Rituraj Gaikwad scored 98 runs off just 54 balls, while Daryl Mitchell made 52 off 32.

Chennai Super Kings returned to winning ways and to the playoffs spots in the standings with a dominant 78-run over Sunrisers Hyderabad at home. Leading the victory march was captain Ruturaj Gaikwad, who was two short of scoring centuries in successive IPL games. Gaikwad (98 off 54) a 107-run stand (64 balls) with Daryl Mitchell, the big-money acquisition who finally found his scoring touch in a quickfire 32-ball 52. After posting 212, CSK then produced a shrewd bowling display led by Tushar Deshpande’s 4 for 27 to leave SRH winless in five attempts at Chepauk.

While Gaikwad and Mitchell plundered nearly 100 runs in the middle-overs (7-15) for CSK, SRH scored just a little over half of that even while having Heinrich Klaasen batting in that phase. It was largely down to the fact that SRH were already dented by Deshpande’s three wickets in the PowerPlay but they were also undone by the home team’s excellent reading of the conditions – a slightly sluggish pitch – and use of the ground’s dimensions as a tactical weapon.

Ruturaj Gaikwad lost an eighth toss from nine games this season and that meant CSK had to dew proof their score. Their captain was up for the task, scoring 33 off the 17 balls he faced, hitting six crisp boundaries. However, the other end, between them, Ajinkya Rahane and Daryl Mitchell managed only 17 off 19. Rahane’s troubled second season for CSK was exacerbated by him falling for the seventh time to Bhuvneshwar Kumar while Mitchell managed only 6 off the 7 balls he faced under the fielding restrictions.

The pair of Gaikwad and Mitchell pushed the foot on the pedal after the first two post-PowerPlay overs brought only two fours. The two batters welcomed Pat Cummins with a six each. With dew setting in, Shahbaz Ahmed was taken for a pair of fours by Mitchell, who in the following over scooped Cummins over third man. The New Zealander, an INR 14 crore acquisition, got to his maiden IPL fifty off 29 deliveries but fell to Unadkat three balls later after being one half of CSK’s most productive partnership of the season – 107 (64). Gaikwad continued to set CSK up for the death-overs, pulling Unadkat for a six hitting Bhuvneshwar for a six and a four to move to 80 off 43.

Two fours off Cummins in the 16th over took Gaikwad to 89 off 46 but the CSK captain faced only three balls in the next two overs and managed only four runs. The hitting responsibilities, though, were taken up by Shivam Dube (39* off 20), who got going with a pair of sixes off T. Natarajan and then added another six and a four off Cummins. Jaydev Unadkat sent down an excellent 19th over, giving away just 8. A tiring Gaikwad mis-hit a slower ball to fall for 98 bringing in CSK’s former captain, who duly hit the first ball he faced for four. Dube managed another six before the end as CSK finished on 212.

The visitors threatened a typically fast start when the first ball of the innings, from Deepak Chahar, was cut away for four by Travis Head. Tushar Deshpande was hit for a pair of sixes in the next, one each by Head and Abhishek Sharma, before the bowler hit back with two wickets. First, Head sliced a wide, slower ball to the sweeper fielder. Impact Substitute Anmolpreet Singh then fell for a golden duck, a leading edge lobbing to extra-cover. Aiden Markram got going with a couple of boundaries but Deshpande picked up a third in his next over when he had Abhishek hitting another slower ball to the deep-point fielder. SRH’s 53/3 was their second lowest PowerPlay tally of the season.

Even against a wet ball that had to be changed once, SRH managed to go just over a run-a-ball over the nine middle overs, hitting a total of just three boundaries in the phase. Ravindra Jaedeja had Nitish Reddy miscuing a pull while Matheesha Pathirana uprooted Markram’s middle stump with a yorker. But the best part of that bowling display from CSK was how Shardul Thakur used the wide line and bowled to the longer boundary, yanking hitters of the ilk of Heinrich Klaasen and Abdul Samad out of shape in their attempt to hit out. The pitch wasn’t as flat as the CSK’s total might suggest too with the odd ball stopping. Jadeja too made no real effort to spin the wet ball and almost operated as a medium pacer, finishing off his four overs with figures of 1 for 22.

104 off 30 was always going to be a bridge too far for SRH to cross but they still had the Net Run Rate game to play in what is shaping up to be a tight playoffs race. Klaasen attempted to slog Pathirana and holed out to long-on. Samad hit Thakur to long-off in the next over before Pat Cummins slogged Deshpande to long-on to give the bowler a fourth wicket. Mustafizur Rahman picked up the final two wickets as SRH were bowled out with seven balls remaining.

Brief scores: Chennai Super Kings 212/3 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 98, Daryl Mitchell 52; Jaydev Unadkat 1-38) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 134 in 18.5 overs (Tushar Deshpande 4-27, Mustafizur Rahman 2-19) by 78 runs.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.