A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

IPL-2024: Delhi Capitals to take on Mumbai Indians at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi: MI opt to bowl

0 221

In IPL Delhi Capitals will face Mumbai Indians at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. The match will start at 3.30 PM. Delhi Capitals will face Mumbai Indians at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. In the last two matches, the teams RCB and PBKS, who were already behind KKR and SRH, who were at two or three positions in the points table, were shocked by defeating them. Mumbai Indians have won the toss and elected to field.

The nature of the IPL is such that the fortunes of a team can change quickly. A team at the bottom can make the climb, and a winning run can suddenly change into a stunning slide. It’s the sheer volume of the games that provides an avenue for the teams to make a comeback. Like in the case of Delhi Capitals.

Earlier this month, on the seventh, things weren’t looking too bright for DC. They were handed a 29-run defeat by Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium and were struggling with their campaign, having managed just one win out of five matches. But they have managed to turn it around. The Capitals have climbed to the sixth position after winning three out of their last four matches – including a thrilling victory against Gujarat Titans – and go into the return match against MI with a lot of confidence.

Rishabh Pant has been one of the driving forces for DC’s turnaround, along with the likes of Jake Fraser-McGurk, Axar Patel and Tristan Stubbs. Kuldeep Yadav has been DC’s leading bowler while Axar has time and again kept it tidy. DC’s problem is with the pace department, where the likes of Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed have been leaking runs, although in their defence, the pitches have not been of much help. The emergence of Rasikh Salam, who bagged three wickets against GT, is a positive for DC.

For the five-time champions, it has been an inconsistent journey with three wins out of eight – their last being a nine-wicket loss to table-toppers Rajasthan Royals. They have just not been able to hit the right notes this season despite having a powerful side on paper. The new skipper, Hardik Pandya, will be an anxious man, with the team placed at No.8 currently and the clock ticking.

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma have been scoring the bulk of the runs for MI, while Nehal Wadhera also impressed in the last match. Ishan Kishan has had a few low scores ever since his 34-ball 69 against RCB. Captain Pandya hasn’t quite hit the straps so far and MI’s overseas combination, barring Gerald Coetzee with the ball, has also not made a mark yet. The bowling has largely depended on Jasprit Bumrah, who has been brilliant as ever, but MI need others to stand up and support the spearhead.

Delhi Capitals Squad: Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Axar Patel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Abishek Porel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Lalit Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Rasikh Dar Salam, Sumit Kumar, Kumar Kushagra, David Warner, Yash Dhull, Vicky Ostwal, Swastik Chikara, Jhye Richardson, Ricky Bhui, Lizaad Williams, Ishant Sharma, Gulbadin Naib

Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Mohammad Nabi, Nehal Wadhera, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Nuwan Thushara, Akash Madhwal, Naman Dhir, Shams Mulani, Dewald Brevis, Romario Shepherd, Shreyas Gopal, Kumar Kartikeya, Luke Wood, Harvik Desai, Arjun Tendulkar, Shivalik Sharma, Anshul Kamboj, Kwena Maphaka

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.