A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

President Droupadi Murmu Confers Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards to Ninety-Four Eminent Artists In New Delhi

0 167

President Droupadi Murmu today conferred Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the Years 2022 and 2023 to ninety-four eminent artists at a function in New Delhi. The awards were given in the fields of music, dance, drama, folk and tribal arts, puppetry and allied theatre art forms.

Besides the Akademi Awards, President Murmu also bestowed the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship (Akademi Ratna) to seven eminent artists in the ceremony. Speaking on the occasion, the President said performing arts hold a significant place in India’s culture and tradition and since ancient times, art forms have been given high regard in the country.

President  Droupadi Murmu added that art and artists have worked to weave the diversity of India into the thread of unity and by doing this, they have also fulfilled the fundamental duties enshrined in the Constitution. The President appreciated the Sangeet Natak Akademi for promoting various art forms for the last seven decades. She said that the work done by the Akademi in the field of performing arts and intangible heritage is very important.

Addressing the event, Union Minister for Culture G Kishan Reddy said that this is not just an honour of only 94 awardees but it is an honour of the entire field of art. He also lauded the contribution of Sangeet Natak Akademi for promoting and protecting the Indian arts in various parts of the country.

Union Minister of State for Culture Arjun Ram Meghwal was also present on the occasion.

Those honoured with Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships include  Vinayak Khedekar and R Visweswaran who contributed to Indian music, while Nitu Kumari Nootan and  Shailesh Shrivastava were among those awarded for the year 2022 and Maddali Usha Gayatri for the year 2023.

Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship is the highest honour given to eminent artists in the field of performing arts for their exceptional contribution. These honours not only symbolise the highest standard of excellence and achievement but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of three lakh rupees, while the Akademi Award carries a purse money of one lakh rupees.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.