A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Australia lifts Under-19 Men’s World Cup beating India by runs in final in South Africa

0 132

In Cricket, Australia have won the Under 19 Men’s ODI World Cup beating India by 79 runs in the final at Benoni in South Africa. Chasing a target of 254 runs, team India was all out for 174 runs in 43.5 overs tonight.
Earlier, Australia had scored 253 for 7 wickets in the stipulated 50 overs.

Australia won their fourth U19 World Cup title with a convincing 79-run win over defending champions India in Benoni. It was the first time Australia beat India in the final, having lost on two occasions previously.

That India were up against it was apparent when Australia racked up 253/7 after opting to bat, the highest total in an U19 World Cup final. The difficulty of the run-chase at hand came through in the maiden over bowled by Callum Vidler to kickstart the second innings. And as if playing to the build-up, Arshin Kulkarni nicked behind in Vidler’s next over. Musheer Khan, who was dropped on nought by Harry Dixon, was soon bowled by one from Mahli Beardman that stayed low.

Uday Saharan, the India captain who’s pulled off rescue acts for India in multiple games including the semifinal, then walked to the crease but couldn’t do an encore this time around. In the 17th over, he cut a delivery from Mahli Beardman straight to backward point and took the long walk back to the pavilion.What followed was an anticipated collapse from India. Sachin Dhas was first stumped off Raf Macmillan, Priyanshu Moliya then mistimed a pull to mid-on and Aravelly Avanish was caught-and-bowled by Macmillan as India slipped from 55/3 to 91/6.

Adarsh Singh, India’s opener and top-scorer at 47 from 77 balls, put on a brave front but couldn’t get on top of a short ball from Beardman, his long vigil finishing with a tickle through to the keeper. India went on to be bowled out for 174 inside 44 overs, with Beardman and Macmillan sharing six wickets between them.

Earlier in the day, Australia braved past India’s breakthroughs by way of crucial stands. The first one worth 78 runs came between Harry Dixon (42) and captain Hugh Weibgen (48). When both fell in the space of 14 balls in an inspired spell by Naman Tiwari, Harjas Singh and Ryan Hicks added 66 runs for the fourth wicket, which was probably the stand that India would rue not breaking.

Harjas scored 55 off 64, hitting 3 fours and 3 sixes en route to his highest score this tournament, whereas Hicks played the foil and scored 20 off 25. Oliver Peake’s 46* off 43, featuring 2 fours and a six, then helped Australia add 66 runs in the final 10 score and put in front of India a record total to chase in the final. The previous highest was England’s 242/3 against New Zealand in 1998, achieved while chasing.

Brief Scores: Australia 253/7 (Harjas 55, Weibgen 48, Peake 46*; Limbani 3-38) beat India 174 in 43.5 overs (Adarsh 47; Beardman 3-15, Macmillan 3-43) by 79 runs

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.