A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

India win by 7 wickets against hosts South Africa in Cape Town ‘shortest Test’

0 124

India claim seven-wicket victory against hosts South Africa in second test, wrapped up in 107 overs, shortest ever in test cricket history at Cape Town

India claimed a seven-wicket victory against South Africa in the second and the final cricket test at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town. The match wrapped up in 107 overs, under five sessions, making it the shortest-ever in the history of test cricket. India’s first-ever win at Cape Town has arrived in Dean Elgar’s farewell Test.

Earlier, South Africa were bowled out for 176 runs in their second innings. Jasprit Bumrah produced a hostile spell to guide India to a series-levelling win against the hosts. Indian speedster took 6 wickets for 61 runs and knocked the stuffing out of South Africa’s middle-order in a menacing morning spell. However Aiden Markram fought like a lone ranger and made 106 runs for his team.

India successfully chased down the target of 79 runs for the loss of 3 wickets just after lunch on second day. For India, Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 28 runs and Skipper Rohit Sharma made 17 not out.

Yesterday, India scored 153 runs and took a lead of 98 runs in their first innings against the hosts. The hosts were all out for 55 runs in their 1st innings after opting to bat first. 

Six-wicket hauls from Mohammed Siraj (6/15) and Jasprit Bumrah (6/61) were the major highlights in India’s comfortable seven-wicket win over South Africa on the second day of the final Test at Cape Town on Thursday (January 4). The result, obtained within five sessions, makes it the shortest completed match in Test history.

After a 23-wicket opening day, it was evident that South Africa would have to do something special for the game to stretch into the third day. Aiden Markram certainly seemed in the mood to take up the challenge but found no support from the other end. Bumrah was at his menacing best as he made full use of the spicy Cape Town surface that had also gotten quicker in comparison to the first day. Which meant that the hard length deliveries with steep bounce was tougher to play. However, like Markram showed, runs were also there to be had if batters were courageous enough.

David Bedingham and Kyle Verreynne fell in the opening 30 minutes of the second day while Marco Jansen and Keshav Maharaj didn’t last long either. All this while Markram was steadily getting into his groove at the other end. At 111/7, the opener had no option but to switch to white-ball mode and while that wasn’t the easiest of things to do on this pitch, he pulled it off with aplomb.

Even Bumrah faced the music as India’s pacers got a bit of stick, none more so than Prasidh Krishna who continued to find his initiation into Test cricket a baptism by fire.Eventually, Markram fell playing a shot too many but not before completing a splendid century. In a game where no team went past 200 and only other batters went past 30, Markram’s knock was a gem in many ways.

But so was Bumrah, who after playing the supporting act on the opening day, worked up the heat with a fiery spell of pace bowling. Markram’s efforts meant that South Africa had eked out a lead of 78 but even with the torrid nature of the surface, those were simply too little for the bowlers to work with. India’s batters took the aggressive route to gun down the total in 12 overs with Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 23-ball 28 at the top quashing any glimmer of hope South Africa may have had.

The left-hander’s dismissal was followed by the wickets of Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli but the result had already reached a foregone conclusion by then. Rohit Sharma hung around at one end with Shreyas Iyer enduring a few nasty short ones before hitting the winning runs against Jansen.

Brief scores: South Africa 55 (Mohammed Siraj 6-15) and 176 (Aiden Markram 106, Jasprit Bumrah 6/61) lost to India 153 (Virat Kohli 46, Rohit Sharma 39, Shubman Gill 36; Lungi Ngidi 3-30, Kagiso Rabada 3-38 Nandre Burger 3-42) and 80/3 (Yashasvi Jaiswal 28; Marco Jansen 1-15) by seven wickets

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.