A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Telangana: Polling commences in 119 Assembly constituencies in the state

0 203

In Telangana, polling has commenced at most of the 119 Assembly constituencies in the state a short while ago. The poll parties have earlier held mock poling after completing the arrangements at the polling stations. The youngest state of India will vote to elect representatives for the third time since its formation in 2014.

Over 2 lakh 8 thousand poll staff have been deployed for today’s polling. Over 3 crore 26 lakh electors are going to vote at 35 thousand 655 polling stations, out of which over 12 thousand will be in sensitive areas.

375 companies of central armed forces have been deployed in addition to 50 companies of state special police forces and 45 thousand state police. Besides, 23 thousand 500 home guards from neighbouring states also have been deployed.

Telangana is witnessing a triangular battle between the incumbent Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) led by Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Congress, and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BRS is trying to retain power for a third consecutive term, while the Congress has been fighting tooth and nail and the BJP has left no stone unturned to get to power.

BRS has fielded candidates in all 119 seats. As per the seat sharing agreement, BJP is contesting in 111, while its ally is in the fray in 8 seats. The Congress gave one seat to its ally CPI(M). Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM has put up candidates in nine segments in the city. BSP is contesting in 106 constituencies.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.