A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Govt constitutes 8-member high level committee to examine One nation-One election

0 235

Government has constituted an eight member high level committee to examine One nation, One election. Former President Ram Nath Kovind has been appointed as Chairman of the committee.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Former Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, Former Chairman 15th Finance Commission N. K. Singh and others are appointed as the members of the committee.

Law and Justice Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal will attend the meetings of the committee as special invitee. The elections to the House of the People and Legislative Assemblies of States were mostly held simultaneously from 1951-52 to 1967 after which this cycle got broken.

The high level committee will examine and make recommendation for holding simultaneous elections of Lok Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies, Municipalities and Panchayats, keeping in view the existing framework under the Constitution and other statutory provisions.

It will examine and recommend, if the amendments to the Constitution would require ratification by the States. They will also suggest a framework for synchronisation of elections and specifically, suggest the phases and time frame within which simultaneous elections may be held.

The committee will also examine the logistics and manpower required, including EVMs and VVPATs for holding simultaneous elections.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.