A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Cricket: India beat Ireland by 33 runs in second T20I in Dublin to clinch the series

0 113

In Cricket, India defeated host Ireland by 33 runs in the second T-20 match at Dublin last night at Malahide Cricket club.  After setting a target of 186 runs, India restricted Ireland to 152 for 8 wickets in 20 overs.

Riding on Ruturaj Gaikwad’s 58 runs and Sanju Samson’s  40 runs, India had scored 185 for 5 wickets in stipulated 20 overs. Earlier Ireland won the toss and opted to field.

With this victory, India has bagged the 3 match series with 2-0 lead. In the first T-20 match, India defeated Ireland by two runs via Duckworth Lewis method.

The Third and last match of the series will be played on Wednesday, 23rd August, at the same venue at 7:30 pm Indian Time. 

India’s batters got a decent run in the second T20I against Ireland in Dublin as they notched up a highly competitive 185 after being put into bat first before the bowlers closed out a commanding, series-clinching 33-run victory. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Sanju Samson set the foundations of the win with a brisk 71-run stand before Rinku Singh provided the thrust at the death with a quickfire 38.

The early faceoff and the consolidation

Ireland opted to bowl after winning the toss and marginally edged the early exchanges. India went from 26/0 to 34/2 as Craig Young and Barry McCarthy dismissed Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma in quick succession. Only one boundary came from the final 12 balls of the PowerPlay as India got to 47 at the end of six overs.

Gaikwad scored only 21 off his first 19 balls but hit fours off each of the next three balls he faced to give the innings some impetus. Samson then put India’s innings firmly back in control with an 18-run takedown off Joshua Little, hitting a troika of boundaries through the off-side and swivel-pulling the compensation ball for six. Samson was eventually dismissed for a 26-ball 40, bowled off a thick inside edge to the bowling of Benjamin White.

Brief scores: India 185/5 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 58, Sanju Samson 40; Barry McCarthy 2-36) beat Ireland 152/8 in 20 overs (Andred Balbirnie 72; Jasprit Bumrah 2-15, Prasidh Krishna 2-29) by 33 runs.  

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.