A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Maharashtra: NCP leader Ajit Pawar takes oath as Deputy Chief Minister

0 230

In a major political development in Maharashtra, the Nationalist Congress Party leader Ajit Pawar on 2nd July 2023, Sunday joined Shiv Sena -BJP government and took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. Now, the State will have two deputy chief ministers. The other Deputy Chief Minister is BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis.

Eight other NCP leaders also took oath as ministers along with Ajit Pawar at a ceremony in Raj Bhawan. They are  Chhagan Bhujbal, Dhananjay Munde, Dilip Walse Patil Hasan Mushrif, Aditi Tatkare, Sanjay Bansode, Dharmarao Baba Atram and Anil Patil.

Earlier in the day, Mr. Pawar resigned as Leader of the Opposition after a meeting with NCP MLAs. The meeting was attended among others by party working presidents Supriya Sule and Praful Patel. This came days after he offered to resign as the Leader of the Opposition in the Maharashtra Assembly.

Mr. Ajit Pawar is said to have been dissatisfied after he was denied the opportunity to work as state unit chief of the Nationalist Congress Party.

Speaking to media persons after the oath ceremony, Ajit Pawar claimed that most of the party MLAs are with him. He said that it is time for young leadership to come forward. Praising Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Ajit Pawar said the country is progressing under his leadership.

Chief Minister Eknath Shinde said that his government is working towards the development of the state. He said that Ajit Pawar also believes in development and that is why he came forward and joined the government. This double-engine government now will run at the speed of a bullet train.

Speaking about the way forward, NCP Chief Sharad Pawar said that party MLAs and all senior leaders will sit together to decide about any action against the rebel leaders. The party also appointed Jitendra Awhad as the new Leader of the Opposition in the state Assembly. Meanwhile, NCP supporters protested against the party leaders who joined the Shiv Sena- BJP government on 2nd July 2023, Sunday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.