A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Karnataka: Congress Legislative Party to meet in Bengaluru to elect their leader

0 273

In Karnataka, after gaining an absolute majority, the Congress Legislative Party meeting is scheduled to meet this evening in Bengaluru to elect their leader. The Congress party won the Assembly election yesterday with results giving it 135 seats. The BJP has won 66 seats and the JD(S) has won in 19 seats.

The Congress has increased its vote share from 38.14 per cent in the 2018 Assembly election to 43 per cent in this election. The BJP’s vote percentage was 36.35 per cent in the previous election which has slid marginally to 36 per cent.

However, the vote share of JD(S) has gone down from 18.3 per cent to 13.3 per cent. In a late-night development, the BJP candidate C K Ramamurthy was declared winner after a recount. He defeated the Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy by a narrow margin of just 16 votes.

Meanwhile, Governor Thawarchand Gehlot has accepted the resignation of Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai.

BJP President Jagat Prakash Nadda has said that his party accepts the mandate of the people of Karnataka with humility. In a tweet he thanked all the diligent workers of the party for their efforts and the people who showed faith in party’s vision.

He said, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi,  the BJP will continue to work for the betterment of the people and raise their voice by actively playing the role of constructive opposition.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.