A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Visakhapatnam: Andhra University celebrates World IP DAY

0 519

DPIIT-IPR Chair, Centre for Intellectual Property Rights Andhra University celebrated the World Intellectual Property Dayon 26th April 2023 atDepartment of Chemistry Seminar Hall of Andhra University. The Theme of this year’s World IP day was Women & IP. About 300 students, research scholars and facultyattended the event.

While welcoming the dignitaries and the participants the DPIIT-IPR Chair and the event coordinator, Prof H Purushotham explained the importance of IPR for students and how every student should aim to graduate with at least one patent publication. He also highlighted various initiatives undertaken by the Andhra University to promote IP and Innovation culture within the University.

While addressing the gathering the chief guest of the event, Dr Y. Srinivasa Rao, an Outstanding Scientist &the Director of Naval Science & Technology Laboratory DRDO emphasised that students and faculty should understand the importance of IP and learn the art of filing intellectual property rights as these are key skills for technological and economic progress of the nation and in achieving Atmanirbhar Bharat.

He gave many examples of successful inventors and stated how Dr Albert Einstein the greatest scientist of all time also worked in the American Patent Office as a patent Examiner and how this experience helped him to come out with many great inventions subsequently.

The event was attended by the Honourable Vice Chancellor Prof PVGD Prasad Reddy, Prof V Krishna Mohan Registrar, Prof Shyamal Head of the Department Chemistry, Shri Ravi Eswarapu Prof Padma Shree Head of the Department Chemical Engineering and Prof K Basavayya.

Theyhave congratulated the World IP Day Award Winners, Prof M V V Chandana Lakshmi of Chemical Engineering for filing large number of Patents and Dr P Aparanji Bio Chemistry for commercializing her patent through a startup.

Also theAP IPR Champions Quiz Competition  winnerswho got the first, second and third prizes namely: Ms. Avuthu Vyshnavi B.Tech third  year Mechanical Andhra University Engineering College  ,Mr BatnaBhaskara Rao MSc Organic Chemistry Govt Degree College Cheepurupalli, Vizianagaram and Marada Hema Prerana second year Computer Science ,AU College of Engineering were announced.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.